Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Best Since the Original Trilogy


star-wars-imax

I was excited to see what was in store with this new addition to the franchise. All the hype of big movies typically falls very short for me. I was pleasantly surprised.  I saw this movie in IMAX 3D, and would definitely recommend seeing it in this format.

When I discussed this movie with those who didn’t care one bit, I described it as “good”. Reason being, these people don’t have the history or love for the originals. You can’t enjoy a story like this without knowing about the prior movies and expect it to have the same impact it would to those of us who have. In the day of big blockbuster, mega-CGI films, this would definitely fall short of that. And for that reason I am extremely satisfied.

Now, for those of us who DO know the history will find this movie nothing short of amazing and transcendent. The movie, set approximately 30 years after “Return of the Jedi”, re-introduces characters we originally fell in love with, while creating new characters, which will seamlessly set the stage for the future. The story line kept me on my feet anticipating the next scene, and feeling satisfied during it’s delivery. With change in time comes change in character’s lives. This isn’t missed in the latest installment. Each time a character showed him/herself for the first time, the theater irrupted with cheering. The hairs on your arms would rise, and you knew at that moment, you were part of this galaxy far, far away….and a hunger for more.

I remain on the edge of my seat for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

